Claudine Dametto

           Sculptor and Painter
 

 

Claudine Dametto was born in Belgium and lived in London and Paris before immigrating to Canada in 1974. Presently, she lives in Montreal.

Art has always been a part of Claudine’s life. She studied music and drama as a child, and painting and drawing at the St. Martin School of Art in London, England. After she moved to Montreal, she developed a passion for sculpture and studied with Arto at the Saidye Bronfman Centre for the Arts. She also studied watercolor painting and drawing with Joanna Nash at the Visual Art Center in Montreal, and received a degree in Art Teaching from the University of Québec in Montréal.

Over many years, Claudine Dametto has experimented with an unusually wide range of medium, including fiberglass, cement, and stained glass, as well as more traditional techniques, such as clay, bronze, and stone. In addition, Claudine has worked in video, stage design, and make-up and is known for her masks.

In the 1990s, Claudine Dametto created a series of sculptures with bicycles parts. Those sculptures were exhibited on the Lachine Canal along the bicycle path. An accompanying art video called “In bicycle” was also presented using two TV screens on which bicycles and the river passes from one screen to the other.

Passionate about travel, Claudine is influenced by African, Native American, Oceanic and Japanese art. For example, inspired by her travels to Japan, Claudine created an installation called “Meditation 1 & 2,” which includes sculpture, music and a Zen garden.

After living in Calgary, Alberta for three years, Claudine Dametto traveled by car from the west cost to the east coast of Canada. After this coast-to-coast journey, Claudine created a series of paintings that focus on the theme of the Canadian landscape - one painting (and in some cases more than one) for each province and territory. Claudine’s deep love of Canada is reflected in these passionate works.

Claudine Dametto's artistic work appears in private collections across the globe.
 




 

 

| Home | Painting | Sculpture | Past Projects | Exhibitions | Contact | Français |

Claudine Dametto

           Sculpteur et Peintre
 

 

Claudine Dametto est née en Belgique et a vécu à Londres et à Paris avant de venir s’installer au Canada en 1974. Elle vit actuellement à Montréal.

Transmis par ses parents, l’amour de l’art a toujours fait partie de sa vie. Dès son jeune âge, elle a étudié la musique et la poésie. À Londres, elle a suivi des cours de dessin et de peinture à la St. Martin School of Art. C’est à Montréal que sa passion pour la sculpture s’est développée; elle l’a étudiée avec Arto au Centre Saidye Bronfman ainsi que le dessin et l’aquarelle avec Joanna Nash au Centre des Arts Visuels. Elle détient un Baccalauréat en enseignement des Arts de l’Université du Québec à Montréal.

Au fil des ans, Claudine Dametto a expérimenté plusieurs techniques incluant la fibre de verre, le ciment, le vitrail ainsi que des matériaux plus traditionnels comme la céramique, le bronze et la pierre. Elle a aussi travaillé la vidéo, la scénographie et a créé une collection de masques.

Dans les années 1990, Claudine Dametto a créé une série de sculptures avec des pièces de bicyclettes qui ont été exposées le long du canal Lachine et du fleuve St. Laurent à Montréal. Une vidéo d’art « À bicyclette » accompagnait cette série utilisant deux écrans de télévision sur lesquels les bicyclettes et le fleuve passaient de l’un à l’autre.

Claudine est passionnée de voyage et son art est influencé par l’art africain, amérindien, et japonais. Après un voyage au Japon, elle a créé notamment deux installations « Méditation 1 & 2 » qui incluent la sculpture et la musique dans un jardin zen.

Après avoir vécu trois ans à Calgary, Claudine Dametto a voyagé en voiture de la côte ouest à la côte est du Canada. Elle crée alors une série de peintures basée sur le thème du paysage canadien – une ou plusieurs peintures par province et territoire.

Son amour pour ce grand pays, le Canada, nous est transmis par ces peintures.

Claudine Dametto fait partie des collections privées internationales.
 




 

 

| Accueil | Peinture | Sculpture | Projets Antérieurs | Expositions | Contact | English |